Kansas Insurance License

Kansas Insurance License

In this article, you will find all the necessary information for the insurance licensing process, which will help you easily complete the application and meet all the requirements. The insurance licensing process is controlled by the Kansas Department of Insurance.

Step 1. Select the Type of Insurance Licenses You Need

You need to decide which category or types of insurance licenses you need, based on the type of insurance agent you choose to be and the types of policies you will sell.

The following are some examples of insurance plans you can sell within each form of license:

  • Property & Casualty Insurance License — Car Insurance, Home Insurance, Business Insurance, etc…
  • Life & Health Insurance License — Life Insurance, Annuities, Health Insurance, etc…

A lot of brokers obtain both certificates, so if you only sell one form of policy, you only need to obtain the certificate that best suits your needs.

Step 2. Complete the License Application

In the first stage to obtain your insurance license in Kansas, you need to complete and submit the application. Also, you need to pay some fees.

  • The online application fee $30
  • NIPR a processing fee of $5, a total of $35

There is no additional charge if you wish to apply a line of authority to your license later.

Complete and submit your online application via the Kansas Producer Desktop Tool.

Step 3. Provide Fingerprinting and Background Check

In order to be able to apply for a certificate, you must provide fingerprints. A background check will be initiated after you submit your fingerprints. If you have previously committed any wrongdoing or serious crime, your licensing efforts can be hampered.

First to start the process, complete the Kansas Fingerprint Card Request Form. Then you will receive a physical fingerprint card by mail from the Insurance Department.

Note: Once you get this card do NOT sign it.

Print the Waiver Agreement and FBI Privacy Act Statement after you’ve completed the request form. This statement needs to be filled out and saved before you receive your card by mail.

After you have received your fingerprint card and waiver agreement the next step is to contact your local law enforcement officers to record your fingerprints. Ensure to bring both documents with you to the office.

In the presence of a law enforcement official, complete the fingerprinting and sign the card, and make them fill out their part of the waiver agreement.

The background check will start only after you submit the application and pay the fees.

With your application fee, you should also pay $60 for the background check and fingerprints.

If you have questions about background checks or fingerprints visit the Kansas Insurance Department Fingerprint page.

Step 4. Take the Insurance Pre-Exam Education

Once you choose the license type it is time to start preparing for the Kansas insurance exams.

The pre-license education is not a part of the requirements, this means that the state doesn’t need the pre-license credits and the studying is all up to you.

There are a lot of online courses that you can take. Before taking the exam make sure that you are ready for 100%.

Step 5. Take the Kansas Insurance License Exams

The insurance test is the next step after you’ve completed all of your pre-license coursework or self-study. Each line of insurance you choose to carry would include a separate test.

In Kansas, the lines of Life, Accident, and Health (LA&H) and Property & Casualty (P&C) are mixed, so you’ll have to take two tests to get all of these lines of authority: Property, Casualty, Life, Accident, and Health.

The following is the fee for each exam attempt:

  • Life & Accident & Health: $64
  • Property & Casualty: $64
  • Life: $57
  • Accident and Health: $57
  • Property: $57
  • Casualty: $57

When you enter, you must have a photo ID and all other paperwork requested by the testing center.

The Kansas Insurance Department determines the exam’s passing score. Pearson VUE guarantees that no person has an unfair advantage or disadvantage as a result of a specific test format by standardization and regulation. Each test requires a 70% passing score to pass.

Note: You must wait seven days to retake the exam if you failed it. And you will have to wait six months to retake the exam if you fail three times.

Step 6. Application Review

Your license application will be reviewed by the state after you have submitted it and met all of the other criteria. Your background check, which was requested by the submission, will be reviewed as well.

If everything is okay, and your application is approved. Your license should be provided very easily. It’s possible that any items from the background check will need to be checked, which will slow down the issuance process. If this is the case, the state can contact you to get more information about the problems they’ve found.

The application approval process typically takes three to five (3-5) business days. Your certificate will be released after the review is completed, and you will receive an email confirmation from the Department of Insurance.

Karine H

Karine H

Karine is a newcomer in the content writing field. She is studying biomedical engineering at NPUA, previously she studied marketing at LPFA. Also, she takes part in different engineering projects and competitions like USWC 21 - Venture Cup. She started content writing a year ago and since then wrote about 100 articles for various websites. Karine has done various volunteering work, business meetings, etc. According to Karine, all the volunteer jobs helped her improve her communication, team working, problem-solving skills, which nowadays helps her in content writing as she knows what people want to hear, and what information they need. This is just the beginning and everything just stats for this girl.