In general, the Office of the Attorney General’s PD Licensing Division issues the certifications in Kansas. Yet, you need to know how to perform investigations.
Accordingly, when you feel ready to perform research, you can simply start your career in this field.
Firstly, whenever you obtain your Kansas private investigator license, make sure you are eligible to become a private detective. That means meeting all of these below-mentioned qualifications:
In addition. you ought to have been a graduate of high school. Otherwise, it is possible to present a General Educational Development (GED) paperwork as an equivalency.
Except for high school education, you need to possess a certificate or pursue a degree program in a PI-related field as well. As you present the proof of educational background to your future employers or clients it promotes a good accomplishment in your career. This way you also broaden your opportunities in the future. Hereby that is a guarantee that you are able to carry out your duties efficiently and safely.
You can find certification classes and degree programs online and throughout the state of Kansas in the below-mentioned spheres:
In fact, you should fill out an application for licensure. This blank form is the same for either a job at an agency or the owner of a personal business like a PI agency. Anyways, those who plan to be an owner need to form a new business entity.
In addition, they also should submit some things before making the initial request. One of them is to complete the Private Detective Licensing Act Exam. It covers the following:
As a part of the request process, all the applicants ought to submit some paperwork to the Attorney General in Topeka. These are:
Meanwhile, the state of KS also requires five personal references from US citizens who have known you for a minimum of five years. The necessary paperwork officially includes the latter.
Generally, applicants ought to pay a fee of $250. The charge is the same whether they want to work either for an agency or independently. Otherwise, the fee is $100 if they are the owner, partner, or associate of the agency.
For your information, fees are non-refundable. It is possible to pay by check or money order.
As soon as these certifications expire please do not forget you need to renew them every two years. In case you prefer to carry a firearm there should be another training course in firearms taken place within the same period of time. To complete these tasks you need to submit these two things to the Attorney General:
In case you bear a weapon, you ought to pay a $50 fee. Please, note that you should as well submit firearms permit renewal blank together with it.
Additionally, there are some professional organizations to join. One of them is the Kansas Association of Licensed Investigators (KALI). Due to it, you will have the possibility to broaden networking opportunities, find extra data on how to become a professional in KS and learn more about firearm certification classes.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), private detectives in this state earned an annual, median salary of $58,060 as of May 2020. Those with the highest testimonials and longest client list gained, even more, making $90,740 on average.
1620 SW Tyler St. Topeka, KS 66612
Telephone: (785) 296-8200